Taco Soup


A friend brought this to a potluck at work, I had to make my own version. You can use packaged taco seasoning-I like to make my own and thus exclude any MSG, silicon dioxide (anti-caking) and salt. I do add seasalt, but less than what you get in the package. My friend also added a package of Hidden Valley Ranch dry mix to the soup just before serving. I choose to leave it out. You can also use all organic ingredients pretty easily.

1 lb ground beef

1 diced onion

1 can kidney beans-undrained

1 can black beands-undrained

1 can corn-undrained

8 oz tomato sauce

2 cans diced tomatoes (14.5 oz size)

1 can diced mild chilis (4 oz size)

7-8 tsp taco seasoning mix-or 1 package store-bought

Sour cream, grated cheddar and tortilla chips for serving

 

Brown beef. Add onions, saute until almost clear. Drain any excess fat. Add taco seasoning stirring constantly to avoid burning,but should make good brown bits on the bottom. Add the remaining ingredients. Simmer for an hour. Serve garnished with sour cream, cheddar and tortilla chips.

*this can be done in a crockpot for 8 hrs as well. Just brown beef then use some of the liquid to pick up all the brown bits off the bottom of the pan before transferring to the crockpot.

Leave a comment