Peanut Butter Bars


I wanted to make peanut butter cookies for work but didn’t have time to make batch after batch on sheets. So I found this in an old cookbook and decided I may never make the cookies again. I love the texture and it satisfied every peanut butter craving I had. I made it again for my kids a couple days later and they loved it.

pre-heat oven to 350′

grease 9×13 glass pan

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup soft butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup uncooked oats (or instant)

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Cream peanut butter, butter, and both sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla. Add all dry ingredients, mixing well. Spread evenly in the pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.  When you remove from the oven,sprinkle the chocolate chips and let set for 5 minutes. Using the back of a spoon, spread the chocolate evenly across the top.

If you can wait until it’s cool, it’s delicious. We enjoy it warm and if you feel indulgent, top with a small scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

Leave a comment